Strawberry Chocolate Chip Pancakes

I mentioned that I made some fantastic pancakes the other day. In fact, here’s a picture:

2016-06-12 09.48.16

Now, the reason this came about is because my grandma and I went impromptu shopping at work last week. We did this because my friend’s birthday was Friday and I was also preparing a dessert for a dinner with a separate friend the same day. Side note, I now know how to make Peach Praline Upside-Down Cakes (they’re delicious). When we went, my grandma bought all sorts of produce. Then, she promptly left the state a couple of days later, leaving all the fresh produce behind. She texted me requesting that I use as much as possible. So, I promptly made a ginormous salad and created plans for strawberry pancakes.

First, I made strawberry sauce. I decided I didn’t want maple syrup for these pancakes; it just didn’t sound appetizing, so I diced a cup of strawberries and heated them in a small covered skillet on low with a quarter-cup water, a tablespoon of cornstarch, and two tablespoons of sugar. My only regret with this process (and I added ingredients as needed) was that I forgot to add lemon juice. I’ve made a multiberry sauce before with lemon juice added that tasted amazing, so I wish I added it this time as well. I think it would have added a nice undertone. Oh well, there’s always next time!

For the pancakes, I used a regular ‘just add water’ mix with a mild amount of water. As I was adding sliced strawberries, I wanted the cakes to be thick enough to hold them in place when I had to flip them. I sprayed the skillet with PAM in between each pancake and heated them on 4 on my stove. After pouring the batter, I distributed sliced strawberries and a (generous) helping of chocolate chips.

 

At the end, I poured the sauce over my stack of pancakes and enjoyed them, storing leftovers in a plastic bag for later (they lasted less than two hours-I just ate a sunny side egg on toast with it).

What’s your favorite breakfast?

Leave a Reply

