Dinner For One

So, I’ve hit a bit of an inspiration block with this site, but I’m going to share something I did today that made me save (at least a teeny bit) of money.

Ever since switching one of my medications, I’ve become much more buoyant in my life. I’m going out and doing things. I’m baking, cooking, cleaning, gardening, hanging out with people, just all around being active. I’ll admit, even if my pocket book isn’t happy, I’m am ecstatic and thrilled to be doing something. Last month was awful, so this is awesome.

Anyway, to the savings.

We have this fantastic old cook book, creatively titled The Great American Cookbook. I would love to include a picture, however, after scouring the internet for a good five minutes, I have determined this book from 1987 has no presence online.

I love this thing. It’s how I made a torte a few Fridays back, a pie the week after, and a wonderful marinade this evening. Okay, an okay marinade for this evening, but it was my first time and the instructions provided me enough detail for comparison for me to use what I had in my cupboards to make a fulfilling dinner this evening.

This is the original recipe for Herb Marinade:

1/2 cup oil

1/4 cup lemon juice

1 teaspoon dried marjoram

1 teaspoon dried thyme

Salt

Freshly ground pepper

1 garlic clove, crushed

1 onion, peeled and finely chopped

2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

I scoured our newly cleaned out spice cabinet and found neither marjoram nor thyme (a classic!). My refrigerator was also lacking in the garlic, onion, and parsley departments. So, I made a few adjustments to the recipe:

2 crushed bay leaves

1 1/2 teaspoon corinder

1 teaspoon poultry seasoning

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

I followed the directions otherwise (mixing everything in a big bowl) and marinated the chicken breasts (did I mention that’s what I was baking? And yes, I did bake them) for five hours.

I baked the chickens for 25 minutes at 350 degrees and created a meal using chicken flavored Rice Roni and canned peas, microwaved for two minutes in their juices. Funny story, my dad doesn’t heat canned veggies in their liquids. He thinks I’m a total weirdo.

I will admit that I didn’t follow the Rice Roni instructions to a “T,” so that was a bit crunchy, but the peas and chicken were good. I do believe the original recipe would be better, but the fact of the matter was that all my clothes were in the wash and I didn’t want to leave the house for a couple seasonings. This chicken needed to be cooked today and we had the supplies to do it.

All in all, I’d say the adventure was relatively successful.

What recipes do you enjoy? Also, any adventures lately?

 

Leave a Reply

