Reading Roundup

Hey, there! I hope everyone has had a great week. My week was super busy, start to finish. I worked on everything from gardening and baking to meeting up with new friends. I even managed to make up some of the hours from my call-in on Tuesday. Overall, I’ve had a good week. My new med is still too much, but I suspect we’ll be changing that soon. My wallet will definitely appreciate it.

Bridget shared the math on why you should pay off your debt early. I’m currently throwing an extra $100 a month toward my car loan and have paid off more than $3,000 in principle since my first payment on September 1st, 2015. Since I only financed $13,500, I would say that’s a pretty hefty chunk of change. Yay for federal refunds.

Maggie addressed a pet peeve of mine. I’ve heard this phrase used so many times for so many things and while it is kind of true, it’s just an awful phrase that excuses short-term discrepancies.

Trent from The Simple Dollar encouraged readers to do their own thing. Lately, I’ve noticed the loss of friendships from high school. While it aches, it’s important to note that we’re all in our early twenties trying to move toward personal goals. Right now is the time to be distant and a bit more introspective.

Erin gave advice on the absolutes we place on ourselves. I like her writing style and the atmosphere it creates.

Seth wrote along the same line Trent did when he spoke about not spreading yourself too thin. As someone with a variety of interests and normally not a lot of energy, this really resonated. I know I can’t keep my current pace up for long without disastrous results, so it put things into perspective.

And now it’s time for…

 

Bonus articles!!!

Sarah worked around the theme of staying present with what matters. It’s hard to do that sometimes and it’s one of the reasons I’ve been changing things up by paying more attention to my interests.

Rosemary shared some of her more destructive habits as a youth. I would watch out for triggers here-body dysmorphia, self harm, etc. I used to have some similar compulsions, so it was nice to have the solidarity.

Finally, Penny added a third part to her Frugally Awesome… or Awkward series. I love this series. I love her blog; she seems so down to earth.

What have you been up to this week?

Leave a Reply

