Intentional Update

Ha, see what I did there? It’s a pun. Anyway, I told you guys a while ago that I would use “Intentional” as my theme for the year, but I feel as if I haven’t been very honest with it. So, here is what I have done and am going to do and how I am going to track my progress.

When I set Intentional as my word, I was going through a turbulent time at my job where I couldn’t seem to get my act together, turns out, I was never able to. I’m still struggling across the board with friendships, money, love, and everything else you name, but I do think that is a part of being human.

I know the purpose of #OneWord365 was to have a theme for the year without the typical New Year’s resolutions that people fail out of within a couple months, but this lack of structure hasn’t been working. I wish it was, but I’m a planner and I need something a bit more concrete to help me make real, long-lasting changes.

Amanda chose the same root word as me, but she has a sub-theme for each month. I like this because it enables you to focus and build your life around your chosen word. With my disorder and all my recent changes, I need the additional structure in order to live a stable life, so I’m announcing my plan to have my own sub-themes.

Now, she outlined them all at once, but ever since my life took a different direction last May, I’ve decided to plan only a month or two in advance (outside of financial resolutions), so I’ll let you know my new word each month.

For April, I’ve chosen Routine. Having a routine is extremely important in bipolar disorder. It allows me to have a baseline. I like to know what to expect. Having a relatively set schedule is important, and I will be focusing on these things:

  • Waking up at a consistent time
  • Eating 3x/day and drinking enough
  • Exercising once a week
  • Posting once twice a week outside Roundups
  • Sleeping at a consistent time

I’m currently working nights at my job and can get home as late as 11:45 pm 11:00 pm, so my bedtime is set for midnight. I will be waking up at 8:30 am. This is plus or minus a hlaf hour. I’ll admit I started this process last week, but I feel pretty good about it. I feel the hardest parts will be forcing myself to exercise and then creating these posts.

Wish me luck!

How have your plans gone this year?

Edited 4/10/16 to reflect changes in the plan.

Leave a Reply

