Steps to Take With a Job Loss

Throughout the last couple weeks, I’ve thought time and again about how this may be a beneficial topic for readers. I know that if my ex-boss hadn’t told me something as simple as, “I would apply for unemployment and start looking,” I would’ve never thought to and I would’ve just stressed out while looking for a job.

  1. Give yourself time to grieve:
    • Denial
    • Anger
    • Bargaining
    • Depression
    • Acceptance
  2. Go to your state’s unemployment website and apply
  3. Follow the Guidelines-Colorado Requires:
    • Actively Look for Work
    • Be Physically and Mentally Able to Work
    • Be Available to Work
    • Register With a Workforce Center
    • Log All Activity Regarding Un/Employment
  4. Accept Work As It Comes
  5. Look Until You Are Satisfied

Now, it may look simple here, but it really isn’t. Please remember that it is okay to struggle. It is okay to need and ask for help. It is okay to take your time.

For me, I still keep thinking that maybe I’ll receive a call and my boss will say, “When are you coming in today? You were supposed to be here at 7:45am!” I’ll go in and it’ll be like nothing’s changed at all. At other times, I’m supremely excited for the change of pace and to try something new. I mean, sure, I’ll be a cashier making somewhere around $9/hr for a bit, but I’ve never been a cashier. I’ll admit, at my old job I was starting to get a bit big in the britches, if you know what I mean. I was building quite the ego that was isolating me from my friends. I think a new job that I’ve never done before will be humbling and put me back in a healthy mindset.

I am lucky. I was called back by a hiring manager who loves to hire young people and help them get their start. I know that the process won’t be this simple for everyone, but take care of yourself. Whether it’s getting out of bed and taking a shower or applying for dozens of jobs until you’re comfortable. Only you know what you need and you can get back out there.

Here’s a link to the sample log Colorado provided to me for keeping track of contacts.

What challenges have you faced with unemployment?

Leave a Reply

