My Forced Staycation

Trent at The Simple Dollar just wrote a wonderful piece on how he plans to spend his staycation. After a week of not working, I’ve been thinking about creating more structure around my day. This is what my day used to look like:

5:50-6:45 am: get ready for work

6:45-7:45 am: commute by train

7:45-11:30 am: work

11:30 am-12:30 pm: lunch

12:30-4:45 pm: work

4:45-5:50 pm: commute

5:50-9:30 pm: flex time

9:30 pm-5:50 am: sleep

As you can tell, I used to spend roughly 12 hours a day on things related to work, now getting ready and lunch can be debated, but I have come to realize that I have literally seven t-shirts I can wear in public and three pairs of jeans. Talk about minimalist. At least most of my work shirts can be dressed down, which is what I’ve been doing. Also, I rarely left the office on my lunch break. I typically still noticed emails and responded to our in-office chat system. I know, my bad.

But these twelve hours are suddenly free. I’ve been waking up no later than 7:30 am (outside the Sunday after where I slept in until 11:30 am), fixing a real breakfast and lunch is kind of up in the air. I have kept up on blogging (focusing more, actually), going to the gym, my Monday meetings, and have seen more of my friends and family than I have been. It’s amazing what having time does. Even just the two hours not commuting on the train is sincerely wonderful. I’ve also noticed that my anxiety is down majorly since then.

Time is something we’ll never have more of, guys. We also never know just how much we have left.

Somethings Trent really emphasized in his article were to keep a relatively flexible schedule and focus on projects you normally wouldn’t have had time to do. Google says a staycation is a “vacation spent…at home and involving day trips to local attractions.”

Here’s a list of things I have not had time to do:

  1. Read (I have a dozen books on my shelf I haven’t read)
  2. Netflix (My list has grown quite long)
  3. Video games (Will I ever beat Fallout 4?)
  4. Cook (When did this last happen?)
  5. Declutter Challenge (Structured and Intentional)

Honestly, I think I’ll start with #5 and sometime this week. I’m also thinking of another thing, but I’ll let you know in a couple weeks about that one. First, I have to update my cover letter.

What are you struggling to find the time for?

Leave a Reply

