Unexpected Cost

So, I have had issues with my jaw ever since I got my wisdom teeth removed back in the summer of 2012. My first dentist told me that it was from my grinding in my sleep. Turns out, that wasn’t it. I have TMJ (tension muscle jaw?). I don’t really care what it stands for, I care that it means I have to get braces to fix an underbite. The struggle is real my friends. I will be 20 with braces. Well, I mean I do have just under a full year until I am 20, so who knows! Maybe if I am extremely careful I will have them off early.

I meet with the orthodontist on the 12th. I’m estimating this to cost approximately $4500. I was hoping to get my portfolio, etc. up, but that won’t happen. At least I have a large emergency fund. I’ll be able to afford about half immediately. Luckily, my family does this through modern dentistry and my sister had no interest financing. I am hoping for the same deal. That means I would just have to pay $150ish per month and maybe I won’t have to dip into my savings, so instead I could invest. I am working a consistent schedule again so I’ll be making approximately $500-600 a month.

Bills, bills, bills! Its a part of growing up. At least this will save me money in the long time and I’ll have gorgeous teeth.

What are some horribly inconvenient costs you’ve had to face?

Leave a Reply

