Banks: Westerra Credit Union

Westerra Credit Union, for those who do not know, is a local credit union to Colorado. I have actually found them to be quite a good starter bank, opening my first accounts at 16. Currently, they have a deal running where you get $52.80 for opening a child’s bank account. Hey, it’s pretty much free money.

I have had very few issues with them and they offer online banking. I do not know of any IPhone or Windows apps. Also, they do not offer transferring straight from a Westerra account to like a Chase or Discover account. You have to do any transfers through the other bank or service or do a bill pay where Westerra mails the specified account a check for your specified amount.

Their customer service has always been good and when I was looking at different retirement accounts, they were my first thought, but the adviser was fantastic and went over both types of IRAs (traditional and roth) and very bluntly told me doing it through them would be a mistake. I found that to be exemplary customer service.

They do not have shareholders, so they give dividends instead to their customers. The most I have ever gotten in $0.03 for a balance of $734.07 in the savings account. I have only ever gotten $0.01 in dividends for my checking, and not necessarily every month. But still, that is free money.

Overall, if you are looking for a local, long-standing bank for starters in Colorado, I would recommend Westerra as they have always treated me right and will do the same for you.

What bank did you start out with and what did you like and/or dislike about them?

Leave a Reply

