Making Money: Amazon Mechanical Turk

I have recently begun using the online website Mturk.com. It is a great opportunity to answer calls for help in online forums. For instance, you can review and accept ‘hits’. These hits may be surveys, a story you submit, or other such activities that do not require face to face interaction. You may earn a predetermined reward for completing these, if they are accepted by the requester.

Opening an account is free and all you need to do is fill out some tax information, like your SS or other options. Then, you can start accepting hits and completing them to your heart’s desire. At any given moment there are over 300,000 available hits, so there is always more to do! Earned money is also put into an Amazon Payments Account which you can then withdraw into Paypal or a bank account, though I may not even do that as I require books for each semester for class, so this could help me pay for that.

I have only been using this site for a couple of days now, so bear with me. I worked on this a bit Monday (12/9) morning and checked it this morning (12/11). So far:

Total Earnings (What’s this?)
Rewards You Have Earned

Value

Approved HITs

$0.75

Bonuses

$0.00

Total Earnings

$0.75

Your HIT Status (What’s this?)
Date

Submitted

Approved

Rejected

Pending

Earnings

Dec 9, 2013

9

3

0

6

$0.75

View more…

HIT Totals (What’s this?)
HITs You Have Accepted

Value

Rate

HITs Accepted

10

… Submitted

9

90.0%

… Returned

0

0.0%

… Abandoned

1

10.0%

HITs You Have Submitted

Value

Rate

HITs Submitted

9

… Approved

3

100.0%

… Rejected

0

0.0%

… Pending

6

I honestly have no idea how I abandoned a hit, but I apparently did. The more submitted and fewer abandoned and the more approved and the fewer rejected, the better.

I am hoping to make a decent amount of money for the time I decide to put in. This is one of the most successful side work I have tried. I’ll update you as I am able to withdraw on the month.

What have your experiences been with program like Mechanical Turk?

Leave a Reply

